- Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education in Ireland - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us
Log in Register Forgot password? ×

Minister Foley Announces Appointment of New Board

Posted by Schooldays Newshound, on 12/05/2022. Minister Foley Announces Appointment of New Board Tags: Education And Politics

The Minister for Education Norma Foley today announced the appointment of the new board of An Chomhairle um Oideachas Gaeltachta agus Gaelscolaiochta (COGG), which she has appointed for a 4-year term until 28 February 2026. The Minister has also extended the term of the Chair of COGG, Dónal Ó hAiniféin for an interim period to the end of 2022 to ensure continuity while the new CEO and Board settle into their roles.

Minister Foley said:

“I would like to congratulate the new Board members on their appointment and thank them for giving their time and expertise to the important work COGG has to do in relation to Irish language teaching and learning and the delivery of the government’s 20 year Strategy for the Irish Language. I would also like to thank Dónal Ó hAiniféin for agreeing to extend his term as Chair."

The Programme for Government sets out the aim of increasing the visibility of our native language and its daily use in the community and acknowledges the importance of the Irish language of the state, as a living language, and as a vital component of the heritage of this Island.

The roadmap for delivering this aim is set out in the Whole of Government 20 Year Strategy for the Irish Language 2010 – 2030 and education is a core chapter of this strategy.

COGG’s role in providing advice to the Minister on policies relating to Irish language provision and its promotion in all schools is key to its success.

The Minister thanked the outgoing members of the COGG Board for their commitment and contribution over the last 3 years.

The new Board is as follows:

Nominating Body

Minster for Education
*Dónal Ó hAiniféin (Chairperson Designate)

Údarás na Gaeltachta
*Pádraig Mac Grianna

Údarás na Gaeltachta
Éanna Ó Cróinín

Aodh MacCraith

Nóra Ní Loingsigh

Foras Na Gaeilge
*Edel Ní Chorráin

Irish National Teachers' Organisation (INTO)
Máirin Ní Chéileachair

Association of Secondary Teachers, Ireland (ASTI)
Lorraine Finn

Teachers Union of Ireland (TUI)
Gilbert de Búrca

National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA)
*Elaine Ní Neachtain

Department of Education
*Peadar Ó Muirí

Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA)
Eibhlín Nic Gearailt



No documents found

Submit a comment

Please respect the terms of use of our discussion boards. Full terms here .
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. When you submit your comment, you'll be sent a link to confirm it.
Name Email