Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education in Ireland

Schooldays.ie - Ireland's Online Resource for Parents & Teachers

Parenting & Education

× Home Parents Associations About Us

How to pick a school

How to pick a school           reply
09/03/2009 15:06 - Ask Mother Hen (Locality: Dublin North)
-----------------------------------
Hi, I have a 2 1/2 yr old who has been in playschool for the last 6 months and who is getting on really well, now I am wondering should I send them to Montessori in Sept when they are just 3 or go another year in playschool? Also when is the right time to put a childs name down for school?

re... : How to pick a school           reply
11/03/2009 12:10 - Ask Mother Hen
Thankyou very much for your advice/help, I found you very helpful.

13/03/2009 20:01 - Ask Mother Hen
I am new to this country but have been enjoying this site as my wife and I have young schoolgoing children. I was fascinated by some of the comments I have read while wondering how to choose a new school. We have experience of a different education system in our home country but are excited about our new adventure in the Irish education system. So far, our experience, through visiting a school in Cork, where our children will start shortly, has been very positive indeed. I picked the school by initially making enquiries through my new place of work, then accessing websites, as well as googling schools in the area. When we knew the school we wanted to approach, I initiated contact by telephone and email. When in Ireland to arrange accommodation etc. I made an appointment to visit the school, meet the principal. the class teacher and so on. This helped me to make my decision.

12/01/2010 16:02 - Ask Mother Hen